Becalmed

A frosty start yet again, and, also yet again, a rapid clearance to a glorious bright sunny day. The clearance didn't begin until I was on my way back from Beaumont hospital after my blood test and having dropped in the letter for the consultant urologist.

I hadn't slept all that well, worrying about the result of the prostate test, so I went back to bed when I got back home, and only got up when it was time for lunch (breakfast when I got home was all the sweeter after last night's fast). The day had turned out rather wonderful, dry and bright and sunny, and it would have been a dreadful shame not to go out for a bit of a walk. I have to admit to cheating a bit. I should really have walked to a DART station and gone out to Malahide by public transport for my walk and blip wander, but I drove instead. I parked just off the main street and walked around for an hour or so.

The tide was very low, and what water there was was really, really still. Add to that the fact that the light was gloriously crisp and clear, and it isn't hard to understand why I really enjoyed the time I spent there. I was especially struck by how good the conditions made even the most mundane things appear, even the rather ugly dredger which was moored down from the marina.

It was a pleasant interlude, and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.