Seeing as I am

By seeingasiam

Weird Wednesday

We had Blue Monday...now enter Weird Wednesday!

Interesting clinic. A real mixed bag, but everyone had something interesting and /or unusual wrong with them. Some days are like that. It's as though the patients get together the night before, flip through Kanski's Encyclopaedia of Ophthalmology and say, 'Right you take page 55, I'll take page 120; you, you and you divide chapter four between you, and you sitting over there in the corner can take pages 273 through 276...that'll test her!'

But we came through unscathed :-)

Limited photo opportunities today but fitting the general 'weirdness' theme of the day is this little chap. I don't remember if this started out as H's toy which Noah inherited, or if it was bought especially for Noah. Given that clowns creep me out and I'm not keen on Jack-in-the-Boxes I sincerely doubt that we bought it, but I'm darned if I remember who did...someone who either doesn't know me well or who holds a deep-seated grudge against me probably! Of course Noah adores it and loves to make it play its creepy little Hammer House of Horror tinkly tune and go 'POP'.

If I make it through their childhood without needing therapy it will be a miracle.

Edit: Ooh...I forgot. H imparted this bit of school-weirdness to me.

Today is 'secret friend day. Every week, well, not every week [you have to imagine this is H talking]. Every week...well...almost every week but exactly every week. Miss W has a bag with all our names in it...but not everyone, well maybe everyone, but there are thirty-one of us and to do secret friends you need even numbers which are divisible by two. So every week, well, not every week but almost every week she has this bag and we pick a name out and that's our secret friend.

I asked what you are supposed to do with a secret friend.

Well, they're secret so they don't know you're their friend but you're supposed to be extra specially nice to them. This week my secret friend is S but I don't know how to be nice to her because she plays with M who isn't nice and I'm not going anywhere near her. I'll probably just smile at her a lot. Like this.

At this point he flashes a manic, crazy-toothed smile, which would have most sensible girls running to the hills, terrified he's about to put a live spider in their knickers.

"Yup, that should do it son," I say.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.