Seeing as I am

By seeingasiam

My Feets Are Wet!

This morning dawned grey and gloomy, the way that only English winter mornings can dawn. None of that low sun, blue skies and crisp morning sparkle round here. Oh no...today was full-on dreich.

I planned to stay in the warm womb of my kitchen baking but Noodles had other ideas.

"I want to go and throw stones and sticks in the water," he said.
"I want to wear my new wellies," he said.
"Please mummy, I want to go to the lakes," he said, then spotting my dubious expression he added, "I'll wear my hat to keep toasty."

Against my better judgement I took him. It's always several degrees colder by the lakes so I wrapped warm but even with two jumpers, a winter wool coat, hat fleecy gloves and fleece-lined boots I was PERISHING after about twenty minutes. It was that kind of cold which seeps through any layers you're wearing and coils itself round you, hugging you tight and sucking out all your bodily warmth in the process. English cold....it's bl**dy horrible with no redeeming features. Noah was soaked to the skin in about five minutes but did it bother him? Did it heck. He wandered happily around throwing stones in the water and jumping in puddles and periodically pointing out that his 'feets' were wet.

This was taken about ten minutes after arriving. You can see how murky and horrid it is. Now imagine that I'm already cold and my body temperature is falling rapidly...then imagine I'm stood there for 90 minutes. Rather me than you right?

Once my core temperature had just about reached the point of no return I put my foot down and insisted we head back to the car. Even the hardy Noodles was ready to go home by that point.

I have spent the rest of the day trying to warm up, without much success!

H was chuffed to bits when he returned home tonight. He entered a competition to design a medal for the local village fun run and he was awarded one of ten highly commended certificates and his design will be displayed in the village hall on fun run day. There were over 200 entries so he's justifiably proud of himself. I haven't even seen the design. He kept it a secret...maybe he thought I'd Blip it and someone might steal his idea...he was dead secretive about his Roman Mosaic until after the event for just that reason! It will be blipped eventually though so watch this space!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.