A place in time

By Verbosa

Daffodils

Well, it was a wet Wednesday and I really needed to get out for a walk at lunchtime. It seemed like just about everyone in the office today had either a stinking cold or a nasty cough - I needed to get outside and breathe fresh air!

So I duly toddled up the river into town and spotted some wonderful ducks who all seemed to be taking a bath at the same time - synchronised dipping - and although I got a couple of shots of them by looking down on them from a bridge, they weren't particularly good ones. Still, it was a pleasure to watch them.

Then I spotted another opportunity when I saw a solitary red balloon floating on the river, when a man came into shot walking along the bank in a bright red jacket (more of an anorak, but I'm sure it was probably some high specification waterproof walking jacket or somesuch...i.e. an anorak to you and me), and an old red car in the distance peeping through the trees. Still not good enough...

In the end, I have plumped for this shot - showing one of the Alice in Wonderland statues around Guildford. This one is at Millmead and is supposed to represent Alice listening to her sister read a story, while a rabbit hops down a hole a little way away (although I didn't get the rabbit in the pic).

"Why is this worth a photo? " I hear you ask...well, it's for the DAFFODILS that are peeping out behind the statue. The first young buds I've seen of the new year. And the sight of them cheered me up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.