an image of teamdel

By teamdel

Scotland The World Over - Pompey

I took part in Scotland The World Over!, lets hope this one scrapes through!

Today started out so well. After months of calls, letters, chasing and arguements by us and our neighbours finally someone came to look at the drain that has been leaking into the cellar. It even looked like they might have fixed it. Sadly the kids pre-bed bath showed that it is still not fixed, and so tomorrow I will have to get back on the phone to see whether the water board or the insurance company will stop arguing about to who is responsible and actually dig up the front of our house and get it all sorted, though I doubt they will.

The non-drain parts of the day have been just as sensitive. When I picked Girl up from nursery at lunchtime we went through to her peg to get her coat and she told me that her ear hurt from all the noise and then broke down into tears. I cuddled her for a while but she was just so upset. A few of the key workers did tell me that today had been particularly loud and then another told me that Girl had mentioned earlier about her ear being sore.

Clearly she had been putting on a brave face all morning and then on seeing me the walls came down. We went and picked up her brother and headed for home with her still very upset. Boy was quite good that he let Girl go in the buggy but then not so good by refusing to go on the buggy board meaning I had to do the whole one arm buggy push all the way home while carrying him in the other and then stopping to juggle hands to ease the pain. Boy is getting heavy now.

So we got back to the sofa got a blanket for Girl, issued some medicine and popped the telly box on and opened the secret stash of mini cheddars. After a while, whilst Boy enjoyed watching the drain man through the window, repeatidly shouting "Man" at us whilst Girl slowly improved.

After a couple of hours I persuaded Girl to wrap up and go out in the buggy so that Boy could go off to sleep. So all warm we headed for a quick wander round the football stadium. Girl clearly was feeling better as she requested to have some pictures taken with the art.

On the way home she told me she was feeling better. I said "That's because of the medicine making you better." She replied "No, its the mini cheddars that made me feel better" I said "No, its the medicine" She said "No, I think its the mini cheddars" I then said nothing in the knowledge that she had won the discussion with ease!

Late night Girl narrative content now added to yesterdays blip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.