this luminous life.

By Laura

Children in Heat.

The Misfits.

Pitchfork Music Festival 2008 :)
Was a long, hot, crowded, fun day.

Managed to see Apples in Stereo, The Dodos, Spiritualized, and Spoon. Wanted to see Ghostface Killah but they weren't on the stage at the right time (it was The Dodos instead). Cut Copy was the main band I wanted to see other than Spoon. Spoon and Cut Copy were playing half an hour apart on two opposite stages so I planned to see Cut Copy (and blip them) for twenty minutes then head over to Spoon. Twenty-five minutes past when Cut Copy were supposed to get on stage, they still hadn't shown up. Disappointed, I headed back to Spoon (actually made my way through the crowd to the almost-front row). I found out later Cut Copy was stuck at the airport. Ha.

Also tried vegan ice cream. Delicious. The guy selling it was someone I hadn't seen from middle school. I'd actually been wondering whatever happened to him. Awesome. Right afterwards, I ran into someone else I know from college. I love how it seems like I run into someone almost every other time I'm in the city (last time, a couple days ago, I ran into someone working in a restaurant).

Oh. I also almost fainted today.
Headache, sick feeling, weakness...
went white-blind for a minute.
Had to be pulled out of the crowd.
Yeah... that wasn't fun. But interesting.

The posted blip is of the 'fan' people were using to cool off from the heat. On the other side was a checklist of interesting things to find and take pictures of. The photos could be posted online for a chance to win a camera. I didn't do it but thought it was interesting. Anyhoo, not the best shots. Digital SLRS weren't permitted in the park.

El tracks.
Crowd heading towards train.
Other blip choice -- eating fruit.
Grape. "Eat it!"

I turn my camera on....

[A year ago today... hanging dead doll.]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.