this luminous life.

By Laura

Send Me A Postcard.

Shocking Blue.

I absolutely love receiving postcards.
And collecting movie postcards.
I can't wait to travel so I can send postcards.
(If you want to send me one, feel free!)

Included are cards from:
Iceland
Scotland
Australia
Siena, Italy
San Francisco, California
Cleveland, Ohio
Washington, D.C.
Arizona

Today consisted of being lazy and a trip to the dentist.

My original blip idea for today involved animal crackers and Twizzler's pull'n peel (who says you can't play with your food?) but I looked at Ryan's postcard (center postcard referring to blip) on my mirror and decided to dig out my postcards and make a collage instead. Going through postcards (and letters & holiday cards), even from people who are no longer in my life, always make me smile. It's nice to know I've had people who cared enough to greet me from overseas (or across the country).

Original idea of animal crackers? Yeah... animal crackers make me think of the dentist and vice versa. Ever since I was a middle schooler getting my braces, up until now, a tub of packaged animal crackers and mini chocolate chip cookies sat on the counter under the television in the corner of the dentist waiting room. After every visit, I'd grab a package of animal crackers for the trip home. Or, if I had just received the fluoride treatment, the package would be saved for a couple hours until I was allowed to eat again. Another thing about the dentist is that the assistant(?) always turns the television on channel 11 when I arrive. Years ago, we were trying to figure out how to turn on the closed-captioning and we stumbled across a feature where three letters could be added underneath the channel on the display. I decided to play around and put in the initials of my then-boyfriend. We could never figure out how to take it off. Years later, the letters, "RBT" are stuck on that television screen only on channel 11... until someone decides to unplug it, smash it, and have adventures. Or buy a new T.V.

[A year ago today...dancing alone.]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.