Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

A winter sport?

If you want to skip my opera review from last night , go to the next paragraph! :-)
Our walk on the ice last night to see Verdi's Attila was well worth it!! It was fantastic! The opera house (Seattle opera has NEVER cancelled a performance due to anything....) looked about 1/4 full to me - very weird- so we were all encouraged to move our seats closer as we wished. I hope most of the others not there were able to exchange tickets... This is early Verdi - even "Bel Canto" and the singers were great and it looked wonderful - Attila and the huns were in fatigues, like contemporary guerilla fighters (no one really knows what they looked like anyway) and Attila had fur skins over that (!) I read a comparison to the movie "Full Metal Jacket" which I only just saw within the last week for the first time (H is on a Viet Nam thing having read my bookclub book on Viet Nam , The Lotus eaters...)- but yes, there were guns and splatters of blood. The Italians and the refugees from Aquileia were in shades of Royal blue and the Romans (not yet part of italy) were in red uniforms. I understand it's difficult to sing which is one of the reasons it's not performed so much-at least not in this country -but it's very stirring music with some wonderful early Verdi ensembles - and it's also short, which we were glad of, since our walk at 10:30PM was over much more ice. We were walking like old folks trying not to fall (we ARE old folks trying not to fall :-) )- I had my walking stick -and youngsters were passing us, but the clear night and no traffic was very beautiful so we totally enjoyed our mini adventure.

Today freezing rain was predicted - woke to a light dusting of white over all that shiny ice from last night, and it did not stop all day! Did have a short careful walk -you couldn't tell where it was slippery - but then I had a notion of going for some more "Grandma Moses paintings" on white so got the telephoto and went up to our roof deck - but the door was frozen shut! (Very annoying! the snow needs to be cleared from there!) So this photo was taken through the 2nd floor window -at Gasworks Park. There were more dogs and people and many sledders on that hill behind and between the stacks, but when I saw those crazy UW rowers coming along mid afternoon, I just couldn't resist! This picture is not showing white "noise"- that is real snow falling.
Even if I could get TO a rowing dock, I certainly wouldn't walk ON it with a big boat on my shoulder. I think everyone is getting a bit of "cabin fever"....especially these Husky kids! Be careful out there!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.