Squat and sturdy

I think these squat brick buildings were built by the MED (Municipal Electricity Department). They're dotted around Christchurch and easily missed they're so familiar.

What has become striking about them is that they exist at all. I don't know how they've faired in the worst affected parts of Christchurch but none I've seen are cordoned off or appear damaged.

Is it their size (small and squat) which has enabled their survival? Most other brick and mortar buildings of this era are history (in the broken and gone sense, rather than the preserved). I wonder....

Nondescript and functional in some little known and secretive way, these little fellas have become some of our oldest undamaged remaining buildings.

I might go looking for them now. This one is on Gasson St, between Carlyle St and the railway line.

Speaking of buildings that have endured, check out yesterday's survivor. A tardy back-blip as I was dining with the hunter last evening :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.