The day after the day before

Yesterday's climb involved negotiating a dense patch of Matagouri bush near the start and finish.

On the way up we literally crawled on hands and knees for 10 minutes and eventually got free of it and into scrub and tussock.

Coming back down we decided to view a different line from above and try to avoid the crawling bit. We did avoid the crawl but found ourselves in a steep gully a mere 60m or so from the river.

It was fun in that end-of-the-day-and-I've-been-doing-this-for-nearly-8hours kind of way ;-) We negotiated giant Matagouri, other nasty strong scrub reluctant to give way and drop-offs into, well nothing.

I have new racing stripes on my inner leg (rather than outer) for a change. Matagouri and a large rock I dislodged which scraped down my leg are the culprits. One of my colleagues kindly dug the obvious Matagouri prickles out of my hand today

All good, just a bit of grumpy inflammation. Blips will continue to be slow this week. I have extra long days at work then I'm away to climb Mt Tappy on Friday (weather permitting). Everything feels a bit compressed and my priority is getting ready and sorting Mum and Dad's 60th wedding anniversary invite. They're legends!

In case you missed it Yesterday's blip from the summit of My Enys is worth a look.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.