Room with a view

City living Christchurch style.

Between the Avon River and Bealy Ave some of the land is very damaged. Lots of gaps or abandoned houses and commercial properties along Salsbury, Manchester and Peterborough Streets. Usually homes are either completely gone or boarded up. I'm intrigued the bathroom has been left. I ginergly walked over bendy floor boards and broken concrete to get this.

On my run yesterday morning I discovered this nearby house has been demolished. I realised that was the machinery noise I heard one day last week.

Seeing that gap yesterday made me realise how often I'm disorientated around the city by gaps and the demolition process. Sometimes I can't remember what used to be. A good prompt to document. It's part of life and we need to honour what has been and now is.

Dodgy weather today. This afternoon I dealt with paper work and wrote a long email to EQC. I want them to clarify some of what they've listed as damage, explain some things that don't make sense and add in the things that are missing. I look at the remains of someones home and it puts my queries in perspective. I have a home and it can be fixed.

Not sexy stuff on a Sunday afternoon but things that needed my attention.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.