cyclops

By cyclops

The Owl of Minerva


The Owl of Minerva

A miniature replica of an ancient bronze. It is made from very heavy metal and is a satisfying weight and shape to hold. It has a beautiful patina. A gift from my father, probably from a museum shop on one of his research trips. I forget where and when but I've had it for around 20 years! My mother will probably send me an e-mail reminding me of the details when she sees this!

I've tried to photograph this a few times (including Monday when I gave up and photographed the flash instead) but it's really hard to show the relief (which needs a point light source off to the side) without getting horrific specular reflections (white bits). Not completely happy with this, but it's the best I can do at the moment!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.