Morning Light

A quiet start to a busy day - this is a backblip.

A stroll down the estuary after the sun had risen found many herons feeding and gulls close by hoping for some offerings. It was quiet, a slow start to the morning with hardly anyone about, the air was calm and all that could be heard were the calls of black swans, canada geese, mallards and gulls with the odd squark from the herons if any other bird got to close. My head was clear and I felt refreshed - ready to start my busy day.

It was to be a day of chatter with a close friend over the most delicious food at the most delightful place. We went to a berry farm called Sweethearts which has the most divine food, lots of berries and gorgeous environment. A cafe set amongst berry vines with tall evergreen trees for outdoor diners while inside the cottage feel with vases of roses and beautiful decor. It is the place where your waited on with such grace and guided by friendly advice as my friend and I 'ooo' and 'ar'd' over the menu. I chose corn fritters and salsa which were beautifully presented with berries on the side. Followed by a berry meringue while my friend had a triple chocolate mousse encased in hard white chocolate decorated with berries and drizzled with a fine chocolate sauce. The berries consisted of raspberries, blue berries, boysenberries, red and black currants and strawberries. I finished with a blackcurrant and apple fruit tea while my friend had a chai latte - we sat over our hot drinks and continued to chatter. We were there for four hours, they didn't mind :)

A lovely start to celebration time for my birthday :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.