Day By Dave

By daybydave

What might have been.

I was at a party this evening. Among the guests was this young lady. Well a couple of years younger than me. I haven't seen her in 30 years. She married one of my friends and moved away and our paths haven't crossed again until recently. But that was 30 years ago.

If I go back 40 years, she lived two doors away from us and her mum and mine were good friends. I think our mothers had half an eye on getting us together, the way mothers do. But it wasn't to be. She realised very quickly that I wasn't the one. About 5 minutes after we were left alone together! She went on to marry someone who made a lot of money and they now have a house on the South Downs and a pied a terre in Richmond.

Lovable as I know I am, I think on balance she made the right decision.

I did get to kiss her on the cheek twice tonight. That's better than I managed back then. I think she might be giving in! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.