Patons Rock

Huge thanks to everyone for your comments and favourites on yesterdays shot of Wharariki. Getting there was a mission (the long walk through loose sand was challenging for my lazy bones), but it was worth it to me. It was great to have that goal done and dusted, but then imagehunter blew it, with her suggestion that we aim for sunset through the hole in the rock next spring - well darn, now we have to plan a new mission!

My apologies to the 3 people who had already commented on todays blip - I've changed it. Kiwilizzie and I blipped at almost the same time, from our own respective houses, and had blipped almost the same shot lol. After blippng the same view yesterday too I thought I'd best change mine - to one of Kiwilizzie herself.

After a great weekend in Golden Bay we headed towards home this morning with stops at Onekaka Wharf (only there wasn't one), Paton's Rock (but I couldn't find a rock), Takaka (where they didn't have my size in the shoes I wanted to buy), various loops of the Motueka estuary (where the kingfishers were a little elusive), Kina beach (where there seemed to be a fishing competition in full swing) and Kohatu Flat Rock Cafe (great food and drinks).

This is the beach at Paton's Rock about 10.30 this morning. It stretches for miles and the only souls in sight were Kiwilizzie and I. The sky really couldn't make up its mind what to do. There was dark cloud, light cloud, blue sky and the pink glow that usually heralds sunrise. I had intended to crop KL out of this, but I like it better with her in there.

I took a couple of good heron shots and got a kingfisher shot or two, but this will be my last chance in a while to blip a seascape, so its today's choice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.