Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Fluffy Bunny!

A long day today, but a good one!

We got up at "work" time (around 6), packed our overnight bags and my concert stuff, and then set off up to the North! We paused briefly at my Mum's in Doncaster, to drop off our stuff and have a cup of tea, then continued to Harrogate, where the Small Animal Show was being held.

The show was excellent, and very very interesting. Not only were there ratties (my favourites - but don't tell Laura & Robbie, who I love very much), but also hamsters, gerbils, guinea pigs (cavies), and rabbits! There were also a few chinchillas around.

We did a brief sweep of the whole show, then ate our packed lunches (supplied by my Mum) outside in the sun. We then split up so I could go and talk rats with the rat people (all of whom were just as lovely as all the other rat people I've so far met) without boring the Wonderspouse, and be tempted by all the various things there were to buy (tempted only though, owing to a lack of funds).

Then we met up again and did some further wandering. By far the most numerous animals were the rabbits - zillions of them. I don't think I've EVER seen so many rabbits in one place before. I kept thinking of Watership Down for some reason!

The rabbits came in all shapes and sizes. I like the little lops, with the floppy ears best, and the Wonderspouse took a liking to the Belgian hares! The biggest ones were around 6 kg, and were HUGE (by that weight reckoning, all our cats and quite a lot of dogs would be "small" animals)!

So the blip had to be a rabbit - this one was on a demonstration stand where they were making the fur into something that could be knitted with. I'm no expert on it all, but I was rather impressed by the furry fountains at the tips of this girl's ears! There was also a competition to guess her name, but "Fluff" (which is what I would call her) wasn't on the list of options!

After the show we headed back to my Mum's, where the Wonderspouse had a snooze and I practised Telemann for a while. Then we had supper, very careful baths (Mum has candles on the side of her bath, which we're always afraid of knocking off), and went to bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.