Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Blurry Bowing!

We woke late, had a cup of tea, and then all got in the cars and headed off to Dad's house for brunch. Dad and Anne (my stepmum) do a good brunch - bacon, eggs, black pudding, sausages, potatoes, mushrooms, beans, etc. etc.

After brunch I got changed into concert gear and went off to rehearse. The Wonderspouse went for a walk round town, and we all met up just before the concert started. I entrusted my camera to the Wonderspouse (who wasn't sure how it worked and didn't know how to turn the flash on) who took this picture. It's quite blurry, but then some of the passagework in the Telemann Viola Concerto is quite quick! I quite like this one anyway!

The Telemann went well, and I did do it from memory (although I had my music with me just as a comfort blanket, but didn't actually need it). The rest of the concert was good too - lots of bits and pieces of New Year music (including the whole of the Blue Danube) as well as some Dvorak Slavonic Dances, which are always good fun to play.

Afterwards I was chatting with my brother's old violin teacher, who also runs an orchestra, and mentioned that if there was ever a "space" for a viola soloist in a performance of Mozart's Sinfonia Concertante then I'd be up to it. I gave him my e-mail address, so we'll wait and see what happens!

Afterwards we assembled for tea and a few cakey snacks, then the Wonderspouse and I got in the car and drove home. Lovely to see that the 4 cats, 5 rats and 2 hamsters were well and happy to see us, although still strange that Dex wasn't there. It'll be a while before we get used to his absence.

We had a small supper, then went upstairs. I had a cuddle with the whole mischief (Charlie and Moses on my shoulders, and "the lads" inside my jumper), then bathed and went to bed in our own bed! Lovely!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.