Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Unboxing

Today's music session was in Balbriggan. I'd sorted myself out in advance, so had my act fully together this morning after last night's meal and late movie. I went straight to Balbriggan from Carl's place, through the Port Tunnel and out the M1, making it to the host's door with five minutes to spare.

We had a great session, including the now traditional cheese and wine and chat afterwards. The session had gone on longer than usual, and then the cheese and wine and chat extended things even further, so it was after 6:00 by the time I got back home with my new Denon music system in its box in the car boot. I usually fail to understand how anyone can bear to delay unboxing a new acquisition rather than tear into it right away, but now I can empathise. I just felt too tired when I got home and decided to grab a quick nap before facing into the unboxing and connecting and all that.

So it was 8:30 pm before I cut the tape and lifted the Denon CEOL (minus speakers, of course, since I'd already got those a week ago in Belfast) out of the box. Connecting and initial setup were a breeze, and I was up and running in less than half an hour. I didn't want to disturb Susan next door, so toned things down and only tried out a very limited selection of the new unit's capabilities. What I tried and what I heard were all very impressive, and I instantly decided that I'd made a good choice (or choices, since the speakers are a vital link in the chain).

I went to bed well satisfied and looking forward to more familiarisation tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.