Journey Through Time

By Sue

Lesser Goldfinch

This is the male and female Lesser Goldfinch. According to the Field Guide to Birds, Western Edition, they are found in small to large flocks in winter, often along with other goldfinches, Pine Siskins, and another bird I've never heard of in my life a Dickcissel. But I looked that bird up and they are found in the midwest, not in our area. Lesser Goldfinches range from Mexico and into Texas and to their upper range of southern Washington. So we are located in their most northerly habitat. They are attracted to our thistle feeder and to the water fountain.

The apple pie is out of the oven, the sun is shining, the sky is blue, the Lesser Goldfinches seem happy, all is right with the world. Or so it seems from my little patch of "world".

I will add this photo of the apple pie. I saw the Rum Raisin ice cream at the store and bought a small carton of it. Took that as a cue for my pie. Soaked raisins in rum and added that to my MacIntosh apple pie. Used Pillsbury pre made pie crusts as I'm too lazy to make home made. I had to make sure it was edible for my boys. It is..... ;>)

Oh yeah, that man who worked with my husband who underwent surgery for cancer on his tongue and in his mouth, also found out he has a heart abnormality and he has to have heart surgery in the fall. Talk about a full plate of medical stuff to deal with. This poor man.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.