Seeing as I am

By seeingasiam

Meet my new best friend!

Tonsillitis has struck again. I don't feel as bad as I normally do...yet, but I do feel rather shivery and icky,

But I can always rely on my family to cheer me up.

H told me a 'brilliant' joke (don't get your hopes up here folks) which his friend told him at lunch today. Are you ready?

First he sang the alphabet song, then finished up with, 'Now we know our A B C, now we do a fart and wee.' Hilarious, if you're eight apparently.

Then later, Bob decided he'd cook since I was feeling crook and he still had some sucking up to do from the other day. I was working upstairs when I heard *this* classic snippet of conversation. 'No you can't cook until you've put your pants on!' I didn't enquire further.

I did have a very useful meeting with H's teacher and the SENCO tonight. They are instigating all manner of simple support systems for H regarding his suspected dyslexia. He can move whenever he likes to a quiet table, without having to explain or ask. He can type longer pieces of work but they'll give him shorter, more structured exercises to help him improve his writing fluency.

They're actually really pleased with him. He's working well above the level he should be. But they're concerned that if they don't put support systems in place he'll do what a lot of bright but quiet dyslexics do, he'll coast, relying on his latent intelligence to get by, but ultimately under achieve. I'm liking his teacher more by the day. She seems very on the ball.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.