Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

Bird on the Clyde

Up in Renfrew for a couple of nights for dental appointments and Mrs B's night out with former teaching colleagues. Some retail therapy is a must for Mrs B when we are up in the big city, so while she perused the shops at Braehead this morning I headed towards the Clyde for a blip or two.

I was trying to capture something of the Clyde's shipbuilding history, with some of the large buildings reflected on the river. However, I was attracted to a couple of Black Headed Gulls that were swimming towards some of the reflected colours from the end of the BAE Systems Shed. As I zoomed in the colours on the water kept changing and I managed to get a few blips. The one I really wanted to get was of a gull passing through the small area of reflected red water. However, as a gull entered this area its back was to me and, in any case, the shot was out of focus.

Instead, I settled on this shot with its mix of brown, blue and black colours on the water. I like it because the combination of brown and blue is a favourite of mine, as in blue jeans and brown shoes! I also like the abstract patterns created by the gull's wake.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.