Squonk-A-Day

By Squonk

Blippin' Great

It's 10 months since I finished my 365 Project. I really don't want to start another one, but the idea behind blipfoto appeals. Upload my "photo of the day", but whenever I want to take one. It doesn't have to be every single day.

It's Friday night and I'm looking forward to using my "new" Ricoh GR1s over the weekend. My dad gave it to me on Tuesday night. It had been sitting in a drawer at his house for a few years and he was having a clear out. He knew I would appreciate it and get some use out of it and I'm thrilled at the idea of shooting with this lovely film camera.

I've popped a battery in and checked that everything seems to work. I've tried to get used to the controls (rather different from my usual shooter, an EOS 7D using which I fired off this self portrait) and I've loaded a roll of Ilford Pan F Plus. I'm really excited about shooting with this camera. It's small, it's light and yet it's solidly built. It has lovely analogue controls and best of all it has what is reputed to be a very good quality lens.

But it does raise a question about blipfoto. When I shoot on film I process myself and then scan the negatives into my computer. Is that going to be "acceptable" to blipfoto I wonder? As long as I knew the date on which I shot then I should be able to amend the EXIF accordingly and upload. But does that fit the ethos behind this site?

And is my nose really that asymmetrical?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.