Learning day by day

By EmmaF

Ask me...

This is the t-shirt I wear when I volunteer at the breastfeeding drop in every other week. Recently we have been discussing how to improve the drop-in rates as the Children's centre we work out of is in the worst area locally for breast feeding. However the PCT in Stevenage ceased funding the drop-in there on a Monday and we are hoping that some of the Mums will travel rather than give up.

Today was a bit scary, I am only a helper (12week course), not a Supporter (2year ish course) and the supporter I work with couldn't make it, so I was there alone, well with William. It had been agreed if there was anything that I didn't feel comfortable with I could ring her. As it was I really enjoyed it. I had two Mum's and a Dad. One Mum just came for a chat and her two year old played with Will. The other was close to giving up due to pain and cracked nipples and baby not gaining weight. She had been seen by a number of health visitors and had come to us as a last resort. No pressure there then.

Anyhow I went through positioning and attachment with her and she looked very skepitcal when I said to start with baby between her breast and move her until the babies nose was aligned with her nipple. But she did it and low and behold baby tipped her head back and opened her mouth and went on. Mum looked at me in amazement and said 'Wow, that doesn't hurt!' That is the best thing anyone has said to me today. She was so happy by the end she was almost in tears. How can it take two weeks and a round trip of 15miles before a new mother gets the appropriate support to enable her and her child to continue with there breastfeeding relationship? I feel so sad for all the other mothers who haven't had the right sort of support.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.