Hero

You will all be glad that I'm not going to blip any more of the thngs I miss on modern digital cameras. Just a quick list :

1. The ability to keep shooting without batteries.
2. The fact that the camera no longer comes equipped as standard with a nice quality fast prime lens. Time was that you would expect to get a 50mm f1.8 thrown in as part of the factory standard specification.
3. The lack of a proper filter thread on compacts and bridge cameras although I concede that this is because of their lens designs.
4. No depth of field preview button on both of the above and on too many entry level DSLRs. This is particularly bad in view of the lack of a dof scale as discussed a couple of days ago
5. And this is a biggie. The quality of viewfinders on DSLRs. They are terribly dimand small compared to what we used to have and so, manual focusing especially in macro is very difficult. Part of the reason for this of course is the slow lenses. f1.8 admits a lot more light than f4 or 5.6 which is all we get on the kit lenses supplied.

Anyway................ Why did I shoot the "Hero" today? Well...................

After almost 2 years of unemployment, today I secured a job. Hooray!! And even better that that it will pay more than I have ever earned in my life before. The contract is for a year but provided government funding continues it should be renewable. I shall be supervising a squad of about 20 folk who will be taken off the unemployment lines and placed into community based work programmes. I shall be responsible for managing them and looking after their gripes and grouses. All that remains to be done is some paperwork but I have been offered the job with a starting date of February 27th.

Mrs. Joesblips told me I was her hero when I informed her. Ten minutes later I saw this boat tied up at the local marina. Now how could I resist that?

This will probably wreak havoc with the time I spend here with all you good people but it will be a question of priorities.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.