Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Zapotec Indian Woven Pillows

I bought these pillows today at the Tubac Arts Festival.  They are hand woven in wool by Zapotec Indians.  

The Zapotec Indians are an indigenous people of Mexico. In pre-Columbian times, the Zapotec civilization was one of the highly developed cultures of Mesoamerica, which, among other things, included a system of writing.

Weaving and factory life has become a way of life for many Zapotec women in Oaxaca, the region in which they live.  As with many cultures, this would have been not allowed in the past.  But now they must supplement the family income.

I had never heard of these people but then there is much to learn about the rich heritage of Mexico.

PS  I also bought that wind chime I talked about yesterday and a leather purse so soft I want to use it as a pillow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.