Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

Union Canal, Fountainbridge, Edinburgh

A Blipmeet this morning with LadyFindhorn, taking tea and freshly baked scones in her favourite cafe. We then walked across the road to the Canal basin. After a dreich start, the sun came out and the reflections were too good to miss. LadyF and I had a Blipmeet exactly a year ago today, when we spent the day at Stills with David Grinly learning a thing or two about taking portraits.

A visit to the Dower House to view LadyF's 2011 Blipbook, and the damage to the front lawn after the tree fell in the recent hurricane. Impressive publication.

I then walked over to the newly refurbished National Portrait Gallery in Queen Street. I spent ages in the photography section, reading every label and panel. My favourite image has to be the photographic portrait of George Mackay Brown by Pradip Malde. I met Pradip several times years ago, a really inspirational artist. I was also taken with the war paintings by Sir John Lavery.

Backblip yesterday of a family heirloom.

S

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.