No, no Mr Hockney, you do it like this!

Statue of Sir Joshuah Reynolds against a poster of David Hockney in the Royal Academy courtyard.

It's been a long day and I'm not sure I can do words any more, as I'm a morning person my brain tends to seize up around now. We're on the train coming back from London so I'm typing this as a note and not straight onto Blipfoto. I decided I'd rather not spend the `small' charge (according to the announcement) to get an internet connection. Four pounds seems quite a lot to me for the two and a half hour journey and 40 per cent of the amount we pay for the whole month at home!

The Hockney exhibition was amazing and I spent quite a long time looking at the way he uses colour to represent the different seasons. I loved the i-pad paintings too which had been enlarged onto large canvase. From the middle of the room these were indistinguishable from oil paintings.

The multi-faceted view of scenes shown on the bank of tv screens was also fun. I watched a ballet scene/ rehearsal for a short while and the effect was a little like cubism for the moving image. I'm not sure if anyone else has done this kind of thing with video.

The Grayson Perry exhibition was also incredible. I love the way he is able to talk through his ideas as well as to produce such interesting art. I'm so pleased we didn't miss this - it's in its last week. We've actually bought the book - so will be able to revisit and share the ideas again in the months to come.

Andrew joined us again after work and we ate in a small Italian restaurant not too far from the station.

It feels like time to stop now and read the book!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.