Erosion

Each time I go to Claremont beach in Sutton I notice these trees, perched precariously as they are on the edge of a piece of land what looks like it's being eaten away by subsidence and erosion. (Indeed, I wonder how much longer that outermost tree will last.)

The trees make a fine distinctive silhouette against the sky at a certain time of day, but apart from that there's something about this corner which I find very attractive. The tide was very low when I was there today, so it was easily possible to walk from here to Howth (that's Howth Harbour in the distance), which is what I did even though there was persistent light drizzle virtually all the way. It wasn't too unpleasant, though, and the drizzle had stopped by the time I was making my way back to the car (along concrete pavements in this direction). This was the most serious walk I've had in quite a while, and I really enjoyed it, even with the drizzle.

A couple of back-blips:
Wednesday - Lily
Thursday - The Grocer's Apostrophe

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.