Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

New Car!

This morning I was TIRED. Seriously tired. I was hoping to get my study completely finished, but I simply couldn't after my efforts of yesterday.

So I did a slightly more sedentary job and looked up cars on the interwebs.

After Monday's blow out, it had become obvious that I wouldn't be able to get my current motor through to its MOT in the summer without spending yet more money on it. Furthermore, the frequency with which things are breaking seems to be increasing, so I thought it might be time to investigate replacements.

I found a possible one at my usual dealership, so I phoned and checked it was available and booked a test drive.

Then I went to Scharwenka's, where we had lunch, then set off to go car shopping. The dealer gave us the keys to this Suzuki Splash, put the trade plates on (it's currently untaxed), and we set off for a drive around.

It was great. EXACTLY the sort of car I want. Right age, right mileage, nice to drive, right size, etc etc etc. The ONLY compromise is that the colour is definitely boring - Scharwenka suggested I could customize it with a tin of Hammerite!!! ;-)

Anyway, I decided to have it, called the Wonderspouse at work, placed a deposit, and went through the procedure with the dealer. I'll be collecting it next week, when they've MOTd, serviced and taxed it, and when I've emptied the piggy bank and searched for spare coppers down the sofa!!!

I'll be very sad to say goodbye to my current car, which has served us well for seven and a half years, but am very much looking forward to collecting this lovely new (to me) one! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.