The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Downtown

I spent the first 10 years of my life in Binghamton, New York, U.S.A. before moving to the next town to the west. As a young child, this city was still fairly nice, but started to decline when I was a teenager.

Today, I visited Downtown Binghamton for the first time in over a year, and was surprised to see that there was a bit of improvement to several of the old buildings in the area.

I remember going into Downtown with my mom at least once a week, as with a family with 5 children, someone always needed something. Because my mom also helped look after several aging relatives, I spent a great deal of time in the car as she taxied them to various appointments.

It was an unusually clear day today, with lots of sunshine and exceptionally blue skies for the second cloudiest city in the United States. Sometimes I wonder what my parents would say if they saw what became of their hometown.

I think they would be sad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.