The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

A Piece of Me

I spent a large portion of my life playing professionally as a flutist. At one point, I was also helping run a music production company. Life was good, but time for musical practice was a luxury.

Enter Sandy Drelinger, an artisan with the patience to customize head joints for persnickety flute players. In a 2-hour session, he helped me determine that I could play my best, at a moment's notice on 9K rose gold, tapered, with an engraved lip-plate, and a unique tone hole, designed for my embouchure.

To this day, even though nerve damage in my right hand and arm limit my playing time, and I often have to search the house for my latest flute hiding place, this head joint allows me to still make music.

Pretty cool.

I love it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.