The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

True Love

I left Chicago in 2001, three days after 9-11. It was a traumatic experience for many reasons.

I have missed many wonderful friends who were important to me, but there are a few other things that I have pined for.

Garrett Popcorn's "Chicago Mix" is one of those fantasy foods that no other place can recreate.

Seriously. I still remember picking up a bag of this special mix in their North Michigan Avenue shop and bringing it back to my office. Believe me, good moods prevailed every time. (Serving as COO, CFO, head of HR, and the company's "Radar", I learned my tricks along the way.)

I learned a few years ago that Garrett had opened a shop on 34th St. in NYC, right near Penn Station, but as many times as I am in the "City that Never Sleeps", I never seemed to have the time to locate the store, which is far more convenient that I realized before today.

You see, part of my Love Child experience has been to expose the things that make me who I really am. In this case, I am a popcorn lover, and have loved the stuff since I was a very young child.

So, here you have my ultimate favorite treat. Cheese popcorn mixed with the best caramel corn you can imagine. A combination of salty and sweet that is worthy of my love, and for tonight, my dinner.

I don't know what they use to make it. I have no idea how many calories it has.

All I can say is that if you ever happen to be in Chicago or in NYC near Penn Station, try some.

You'll thank me later.

As they say, "Love is Messy."

It's worth it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.