The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Family

My family history is important to me. I am a first generation Armenian-American on my paternal side, and 2nd generation Russian-American on my maternal side. Both of my parents families immigrated to America amidst religious persecution and war.

This piece of art was made in 1978, by a Russian born Armenian named Anatole Avetyan, who was born in Siberia in a family of deportees. The piece is made of aluminum and was an early work of this now well-known artist.

I had no idea, when I acquired this untitled piece at an Armenian Church benefit art show, that Anatole would one day have pieces in Paris, Moscow, Yerevan, Boston, and The Vatican.

Somehow, it spoke to me of love, family, and the male-female bond.

It is a mere 32X16 cm piece, but it speaks large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.