The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Fat Tuesday

I didn't realize that it was Fat Tuesday until I read about it on the facebook status of one of my friends from High School that I still see every now and then. It got me thinking about the leftovers of my chocolate/cherry/almond birthday cake, which I was forced to freeze last week. (Would not risk throwing away such decadence.)

Knowing that I would be out of town for my birthday, I decided to bake a cake on Valentine's Day, and have my favorite meal of grilled rib-eye steaks and a nice homemade cake for dessert. After all, I was originally due on Valentine's Day, but kept my mother in labor for several days instead.

Tonight, I broached the subject of "Sliders" to my daughter, who is not a burger fan. When she agreed, I was delighted, and settled on a "Ring of Sliders" for my Fat Tuesday feast! (No one has to ask Bobby if he wants a few "Baby Burgers.")

Americans will remember A&W Drive In's and those appropriately named burgers.
I still pine for one of those tiny root beer mugs that would come with my "Baby Burger" meal.

My "Blip" of the day features some burgers with cheese and some without (for me). These little babies were sumptuous, with sauteed red onion, sweet pickle chips, ripe plum tomato slices, and a side of my favorite Cape Cod Reduced Fat Chips.

One last hurrah before the Lenten Season begins. Simple, American Food, and the memory of a drive-in meal with my mom and sisters.

Perfection!

Cake, anyone?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.