What did I see today...?

By DaveR

Aw, flip!

Well, no pancakes for me today!

The trouble with moving house (but mostly with being a terrible chef!) is that there's no real incentive to do a lot of cooking at the moment. I also missed my chance to go to a pub serving pancakes (doh!) but have had a great night nonetheless.

Yes, it Tuesday and it's time for another pub quiz at the Empress. I didn't get to join up with Rachel or Lee tonight; it was their team who I joined with Zara, to win a couple of weeks ago. Instead the bulk of our team was out, we lost Alex to an evening out, but Zara, Stef, Mark, Kevin and myself were all there representing, and we managed a respectable third place with Rachel's team winning and Lee's team coming in second - they beat us by half a point* - it could have been scripted and was, for lack of a better word, hilarious :-D

Still I did manage a 'we are the champions' type moment, and that's in the art of beermat flipping. The idea is that you put a stack of beermats on the edge of the table, have a hand beneath them (palm down) and in one swift movement lift it, flip the mats over and then catch them. Sounds easy, but it takes quite a bit of skill once you get beyond a reasonable stack (about six or seven).

My personal best before tonight was about fifteen, which is, coincidentally, when this photo was taken**.

It's now twenty-four :-D



Hope you all had a great Tuesday, whatever you flipping did well!



*even with the bonus point I won for knowing that Alan Rickman, that legend, is 66 today!

**For which props to the occasional star of my Blipfoto journal, Mark (a.k.a. the pool and golf playing, cocktail drinking in the snow man) who took the Blip today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.