A Day Worth Recording

By Cheeseminer

Mike

The creature has no name, but was given to me by a fellow University archer, Mike, in around 1981.  It was one of a number produced, I believe, by Mike's mother in our respective identifying colours.  (It helps when sorting out whose arrows are whose in the target).  My colours were black and yellow - a long time favourite combination but also conveniently matching my Manchester Physics dept. scarf.  

The beastie is a bit faded now.

Mike and I saw little of each other after Uni - the occasional party, Christmas card, etc.  so it was a surprise for us to be invited down to his flat in London for a day in the early 90's.  I remember it was a January day and he'd the top down on his car. It was a good day. We enjoyed a film on TV, a whisky, and a good time.

We lost contact.  It was deeply saddening to discover, years after the event, that he'd since committed suicide.

The beastie may be a bit forlorn and faded, but it's valued.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.