SnappySez

By Sezo

Gorse goes the weasel

Well, it was the only title I could think of ;)

I went for a walk up Haughmond Hill today, a local landmark which is great for walking and a favourite amongst dog-owners for a bit of tame wilderness. I had heard there was a ruck of snowdrops up here, but sadly I couldn't find them.
I had great fun looking at other things to photograph though, and this was one of my favourites.

In Druid lore the Gorse or Onn represents the light that continues to shine through adversity, in the most bleakest of times we will find a glimmer of hope and something joyful to hold on to. This is especially true to gorse-y landscapes across the UK where there is not much in terms of flora on the landscape and the land looks extremely bleak until the gorse comes into its glorious flower.

So, I found my glimmer of hope today in finding a gorse bush or two in flower to poke the camera at, and this was the nicest shot of them all.
For after I took this picture I carried on going along the distant path and had a really nice walk :D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.