LeeAnne

By LeeAnne

Laughter...

29 Day February Challenge

This brings back a very happy memory for me... I had my 30th birthday in The Stand Comedy Club. I've never had a birthday party as an adult. I'm not really one for that kind of thing. I'm not good at being the centre of attention. All these women who have big plans for a big white meringue and a fabulous wedding? I'm not one of them. I can't actually think of anything worse. Well I can obviously, but on a personal cringe level it's up there! I've never had that sort of dream and if any of my friends get married and make me a bridesmaid, don't be offended if I decline especially if you have dreams of a peach meringue for a bridesmaid! I'd also rather spend that sort of dosh on a flash car and a nice holiday. Sorry Mum... hope you're not still dreaming for that particular day!

I had birthday parties as a kid, at the trampoline centre in Portobello by the looks of things from the photos. I can't decide if I remember those parties because of the photos and the stories told rather than from actual memory though. I have a terrible memory and very few childhood memories. My adult memory isn't particularly good either but I do remember the night of my 30th birthday.

I had arranged with a crowd of friends to go along to the comedy club for my birthday night out. I'd been dumped the week before the one I bumped into in the pub a couple of weeks ago with Filthytwitcher so newly single, on a mission to have a good night with the boys and a few of my girl friends. They'd bought me a flashing 30th tiara, the girls obviously... the boys bought me booze! So we sat right at the front cause that was a top idea!! and got drunk and laughed. Clearly I didn't stick out like a sore thumb in my flashing tiara, no, didn't get picked on at all! I guess the more I drank the funnier everything was. The staff had handed out little cards to everyone when we arrived, you know the sort of thing with a space for you to comment etc. Well in my drunken stupor I decided it would be smart to write "thanks for making me laugh in the week I turned 30 and got dumped!" Didn't really think that through did I?! But I never thought anything more of it until the compere woman came out at the end to close the show and she had one card in her hand. You know that moment when you just think "oh no, betcha that's my one!" There was much more of a 'fuuuuuuuuck' thought going through my head! I knew that card had my writing on it... I was pretty hammered by that point but I still knew that the mortification was going to hit one more time... I wasn't disappointed.

I laughed a lot that night, despite the whole room staring at me! And I got two free drinks out of it. Not quite sure how I remember that part given the amount of alchohol consumed at that stage in the game but it was one of the best nights. I couldn't tell you who the comedians were or how I got home or if I even went home but I'm almost certain that I had a good time.

Laughter is good for your soul.

Oh... and day three = no crisps and no chocolate! *pats self on back*

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.