Journeys day by day

By KathleenS

Houston, we have a problem

So Thursday, when I had the afternoon off, I went and got a thistle feeder to attract goldfinch. While I was there I also bought a 6 station tube feeder and some black oil sunflower seed for the chickadees. I did this because the 5-10 pine siskins are sitting at all the other feeders being territorial and not letting the other birds have a go at the feeders. Last night when I got home from work I noticed that the sunflower feeder was empty. It's a huge feeder. All gone in one day. I wondered what the heck happened.

The plan completely backfired. Instead of more feeding stations for the other birds, I woke up this morning to 25-30 pine siskins. With a theater of juncos sitting on branches around the area looking woefully at the siskins. Every time a junco would come in, the siskin would do it's threatening hiss and flutter and the juncos apparently think that the smaller siskin could do damage.

This is what they do to each other, fussing all the time. I realized that it was probably good practice for my stopping action photography education. Problem today is that lighting is tough with it being so cloudy. I will keep practicing though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.