The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

A Fish Tale

This fish was made by the young woman who used to cut my hair. She was born to be an artist. Her favorite subjects were angels and fish, and I fell in love with this one and had to purchase it from her. I've had it for many years.

The other day, my older daughter (I have 2) was talking to me about being misunderstood by people, and that she thought that many of them would be shocked to learn that she loves to go fishing. It started when she was very young, going to the small lake across from where we used to live. She would catch the large goldfish, put them in a bucket of water, then throw them back in when she and her dad were finished.

I used to go fishing every now and then with my father too. He would cast for lake trout, and we would drift along in the water, quietly taking in the clean air and beautiful views. It taught me patience, and how to sit still and not make a peep.

Fish are mysterious and often beautiful. This one reminds me of a dear friend, and fills the bedroom wall with its happiness and freedom.

Contrary to what some believe, fish do enter their own sleep mode and daydream every now and then. They don't have a concept of night or day, but do appreciate the dark.

Even fish like to sleep with the lights off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.