Eilatanfoto

By Eilatanfoto

The Angel that brought me to Melbourne.

Melbourne is a great city - it has fabulous buildings, parklands eveywhere, amazing art and strange people who stand on wierd angles trying to unsuccessfully take abstract photos that would reflect this (it's digital -why didn't I just turn the camera around lol?????).

Anyway, the sculpture (or bit thereof) in the foreground is called 'Angel' by Deborah Halpern. It used to stand in the moat at the National Gallery of Victoria and this is where I first saw it at the age of 14 (it is now located at Birrarung Marr on the banks of the Yarra River) . Coming from a small country town in Tasmania I'd never seen anything like it and was totally captivated at the magnificance of it. There and then (apparently) I declared to my Mum that one day I'd be living in Melbourne.

I've lived all over Australia and came to Melbourne 3 years ago. On my first day here I hunted down the Angel sculpture and it was as awe inspiring as I remembered it to be. I smile everytime I see it. I had no reason to move to Melbourne, I just up and did..... but I like to think it was the Angel that brought me here....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.