It Started Down Under

By dirk

Foggy Skiing Day

Today we got up not too early, we got me a pair of ski's and shoes and then drove on to the Winklmoos Alm and Steinplatte. Together with my brother and mother I went up the mountain with the gondola. There we met up with Jeroen and Bas (friends of us) after a short bit of skiing from southern Germany into Austria.

We went down the mountain quite a number of times. It was busy on the pistes and the sight was very bad because of the lack of shadows. I could not distinguish an enormous hill in the middle of a valley of snow which took me by surprise and almost got me flying through the air!

For the first time in my life I went up to the top of the mountain at the Steinplatte. The view was incredible (look at the picture here). You could see the Chiemsee from there. The reason I had never been up there was simply because the way down was dark red or black pistes. We went up twice and did the two different difficult red ones. I fell only once. We reached a speed of just over 60 km/h at one of the descents.

I had a great day and we ended the skiing adventure of today with a high speed snowball fight pursuit between me and my brother. We skied to the valley where we would be picked up by car and meanwhile we grabbed snow from the sides of the path and threw it at one another.

This morning I also received word that my girlfriend had safely arrived in Beijing and her adventure has officially started now. Have a great time sweetie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.