Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

New Dash!

And so, the day arrived!

I spent the first part of the morning emptying all our bits and pieces out of the old car. There was A LOT of stuff - cassettes (yes, it still had a tape player), atlases, blankets, tissues, plastic forks (for picnics), spare glasses, sunglasses, bottles of antifreeze, screenwash, oil, water and so on, Scharwenka's decent jack, and numerous other random odds and ends.

It felt oddly sad and emotional to say goodbye to a car we've loved so much. Although it's only a collection of metal, plastic and other stuff, it's a place with many memories for us. I've driven well over 100,000 miles in it, and it's seen many adventures. It was also one of the last things my lovely Granny bought for us shortly before she died.

However, it was time to move on, so I drove to the dealership, signed forms, handed over eye-watering amounts of money electronically, and eventually drove off in the fabulous new motor!

I went to Scharwenka's for the afternoon, and when the Wonderspouse came to meet me we took the new chap shopping with us! I imagine I'll get to know the dashboard in this blip as well as I knew the one in yesterday's blip, but for now it feels very new and different!

Lovely car though. The Wonderspouse asked why I was driving so slowly on the way home - then noticed that I wasn't. The absence of rattles and the immense smoothness of the ride makes all the speeds feel very different!

By the time we got home I was exhausted - a busy day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.