Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Stripey Snoozer!

As we now had a functioning car, I finally went out and did all the jobs that required a bit of driving! So, this morning I was out and about, feeling a bit like I was driving a courtesy car, and working out what all the various buttons and so on did!

Before I went out I did the morning maintenance on my special needs boys Pythagoras and Archimedes. I noticed a scratch on Py's shoulder was swelling and suspected an abscess.

When I got home it was worse, so I took him to the vet. The vet was utterly charmed by Py, who was so well behaved, and so sweet. Apparently one of her vet colleagues had been very excited about having a dumbo rat in the surgery last week, and she was almost jumping up and down with excitement at having a hairless one!

Py has been prescribed Baytril, which I need to give him twice a day, and if the abscess doesn't clear up, then the vet will lance it next week. He wasn't interested in taking it hidden in any sort of food, but, amazingly, allowed me to put it straight into his mouth from the syringe. What an amazingly good and tolerant rattie he is.

The vet said he was otherwise in excellent health and his eyes looked really good, so I'm obviously doing the right thing with the bathing!

After being out and about all day I was shattered. I realised late on in the evening that I hadn't taken a single photo. However, Tiggy was happy to act as model, and fell asleep very cutely on the sleeping place next to my sofa!

Bless her!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.