Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Elijah's Parents!

What a fab day today!

I went to the Boscombe Down NFRS (National Fancy Rat Society) show today. Not to show, but to spend the day with friends talking rat stuff and to collect the last two new members of the family (for now)!!!

It was lovely driving down there in the new motor, which I'm starting to get used to, and which is so smooth and lovely to drive, although I'm still having to look at the speedometer much more - the old car had a panoply of rattles, which indicated how fast I was going pretty much all the time!

Once there, it was lovely to see that Henry and Elijah's breeder was also there, AND, she had both Elijah's parents with her (Dad was entered in pets, and Mum was keeping another doe company in a carry box). I spent ages with Mum (Patience), and she's so like Elijah that it's amazing - he's definitely a mummy's boy! Dad (Wisdom) is also gorgeous, and Katie was kind enough to hold them both for me so I could get a picture of them together - although not too close together, or Elijah might end up with a whole load of unplanned little brothers and sisters!!!

And, of course, I talked to loads of rats, and, most fab of all, collected IV-XL and Victor - who are absolutely gorgeous! They'll be blipped VERY soon!

Since I wasn't showing and didn't have to wait for the end of the show I left before things finished, and drove home while it was just about still light.

Lovely day though!

I spent the evening settling the new little boys into their cage. They've moved in with Vulcan, Isaiah and Jeremiah, and they all instantly got on together (one of the advantages of them all being so young). I made them a big bowl of "baby porridge" (a mix of protein rich foods that many folk feed to young rats), and they all happily nibbled away before settling down to sleep together!

So lovely! There are few sights that make me happier than a little pile of rat kittens curled up together!

And it was a thrill to meet both of Elijah's parents today - felt like some sort of "parents evening"!

A lovely day! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.