26/29 time

What's the time, Mr Wolf?

Fun times last night at bedtime. Charley decided around half past seven that he'd had enough and needed time out in a darkened room. Didn't want to go to sleep, he was just over-stimulated and needed a break. Spent nearly an hour just lying on the bed with only the landing light on, cooing and talking to me, reaching out to touch and grasp my face, and clutching my fingers. Quite content! I on the other hand was hungry...

He ended up being wrapped up on Steve while I got Ben ready for bed and took him up. I think it's kinda funny that Steve has developed a preference for the Ellaroo over the Moby to wrap Charley in, saying it's easier! I guess it is easier in a way, I'm just so used to the Moby. Either way, Charley loves the snuggles in a wrap so he went off to sleep fairly easily.

Ben also went to bed easily. I love that he has grown into an easy child to put to bed. I was worried at one point with all his late nights and general lack of routine but it has worked well and he even asks to go to bed sometimes. (The fact he doesn't stay there is another matter altogether but we'll gloss over that for now.)

Charley, when Steve and I finally went to bed, didn't initially want milk or sleep but must have spent another half hour chewing on my knuckle! That knuckle is going to be the first to be told of any toothy development I think. It was funny watching the Charley-Lunge manouvre, as he lunged and wiggled towards the knuckle if it moved away. It's easy to see how he makes his way across the bed towards me! Once he'd had enough of chewing he made it clear he wanted a boob and happily fell asleep after his milk.

This morning has been all about timings. Getting up and out to church, feeding and sleeping times, dropping Ben off at his sunday school group, and then back in the car for me and Charley who was most grateful because he was (thankfully) ready for another sleep by then.

I love how Ben and Elizabeth hooked up in the hall at church and held hands all the way to their group! Ben is really making friends in this new group. It's all children his age or older at the moment too, he's no longer one of the oldest in the group having moved up from creche. And what a difference a couple of months makes! A kiss and a 'bye! instead of tears and clinging on. He keeps on growing up, that boy. And it's marvellous to watch.

Swimming Take 2 didn't go especially well, despite Charley having a sleep beforehand. This time, I suspect his anger was at being cold and wet, and it was not what he was expecting. He spent an unhappy 15 minutes before we called it a day - when we come back in two weeks' time we'll come both Saturday and Sunday until he gets used to it! It's such an important life skill to have, this confidence in water. I really hope he loves the water like Ben does. Steve was telling me that Ben used to freak completely when he went as a baby!

Dropped the car at home and headed back to church to walk home with Ben and Steve, it was a lovely day and worth the walk - especially as when I got there we managed to palm Ben off on friends for the afternoon!! Steve was meant to do some tiling this afternoon but Scotland were playing France (and actually scored a couple of tries, I was quite pleased) and we ended up just taking all afternoon to eat lunch while Steve watched the rugby, and I fed and held Charley (he didn't get off my lap ALL AFTERNOON grrrr). So the tiles were cut when Ben got home instead! I spent my few minutes of Charley-free time baking Herman cakes so we had nothing but cake for tea (not so bad, it turned out pretty well this time!) - well, cake, crumpets and salami hehe - and then I spent yet more time holding Charley after Ben went to bed. Steve put Ben to bed tonight. He had a cuddle with me downstairs and then Steve took him up - and by the time I went up to say goodnight he was fast asleep! If Ben's in a good mood it's definitely quicker for Steve to put him to bed.

Totally ran out of TIME to blip though. Had grand ideas of turning my legs into the clock hands but time and baby were against me so this is my backup emergency fallback blip, the clock that our beautiful friends in Iisalmi (central Finland) gave us when we were going home to England. As time goes on, we'll never forget that year with them :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.