A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Snicket --

or is it a ginnel? Snicket seems to be the favourite as a ginnel apparently goes between buildings, but as I know some people also call these snickets I'm really unsure whether I am correct in my terminology or  not.

Any way this is Toby half way down the lengthy labyrinth of snickets between dry stone walls at the end of this mornings walk.

We have done this test walk before just after Christmas when Grace was nearly blown away by the wind at the top of Wilsden hill. Here

Today was very grey and drizzly so not fantastic for views but lots of signs of Spring. Daffodils nearly out and catkins on the trees, even a little less mud.

You wouldn't think so to see Toby. At the distance in the photo he looks quite white but he certainly isn't and this morning he looked particularly bedraggled. I don't think he actually rolled in anything (which he often does) but I did see him drinking from the small puddles in amongst the mud around the field gateways.

Toby doesn't belong to any of us but is walked by his owners sister as she is a nurse working shifts. I am often quite grateful he is not coming back into my house and when he is deposited back home I can't imagine where he goes though I* do see him asleep on the back of the sofa in the window!

You've met Meg so just Buster to go but he rarely stays still long enough to be 'snapped'!

Good walk despite the weather and the hill just before the end from Bents Lane to Tan House .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.