Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

An Exceptional Sandwich

Cynthia had a lunch date with a friend today, so I was free to choose whatever I wanted for lunch, as long as I made it myself or used up left-overs. It was a sunny day, so I wasn't in the mood for a hot and heavy meal. A peanut butter and jam sandwich was what came to mind -- not your run-of-the-mill kind of sandwich, but a carefully designed and crafted creation unlike any you'd find in your local sandwich shop.

Here is my recipe.

Start with good bread. I used Sandwhich Wheat from Bread Farm, a family-owned artisanal bakery in a hamlet* a few miles south of Bellingham. I was going to post a link to their Website but it doesn't seem to be working, so here are some rave reviews.

The peanut butter is organic, from Costco. I spread a thin layer on both slices to seal the holes in the bread so that the jam doesn't ooze out on my fingers or shirt.

The raspberry jam and marmalade are both from Trader Joe's. Their marmalade is almost as good as the real (Scottish) kind. I used two flavors because I wanted both, not because I was indecisive. Use any flavor(s) you like, as long as it's not grape or any kind of jelly.**

That's all there is to it. As Einstein said -- "make things as simple as possible, but not simpler".

* I say the bakery is in Edison, and so does the label on the bread, but several Websites say it's in Bow. I don't care what you call the place -- I know where it is.

** my personal prejudice -- ignore it if you must.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.