Size is not everything!

I could tell from the size of his drive, that he was a man of means!

But first, let me take you back to September 12th last year to the story of Harry Stocracy
In part three, at the party in Ireland, I wrote that I was very surprised to meet Tom Two. We had been introduced previously at a charity 'do' when he had a lady on his arm, but now, he told me he was on his own. He gave me his business card, but I explained I was with Harry Stocracy.

News travels fast in some circles and shortly after the end of my friendship with Harry, Tommy Two phoned me.

" I have tickets for the Opera to see La Boheme. I will send the car for you. "
"Goodness how wonderful"

The car, with driver and Tommy arrived. We were dropped off right outside Covent Garden Opera House.
I had never seen opera before, let alone at Covent Garden.

We had champagne before, during and after - the performance. The car then arrived to take us to a top London restaurant - the sort that doesn't have prices on the menu.

We were driven home, I thanked him for a wonderful evening, and waved him goodbye as I let myself into my little cottage.

I drove to his house the next day and parked out of sight. I got out of the car, surveyed the sweep of the drive and the lawns.
I looked at the indoor swimming pool, the Tudor mansion, the stables, the gym and the garaging for several cars.

"This could all be yours - if you play your cards right, Amanda." I told myself.
But the little Leprechaun that sits constantly on my shoulder naggingly asked:
"And what would you be wanting with him?"

"Security? Lifestyle?" I thought.

"But, would he make you laugh until your sides ache?" Said the Leprechaun.

"Maybe"

"And when you turn your head on the pillow and squint with one eye in the early morning light?"

"I know, I know?.. " My thoughts trailed off lamely.....

In spite of giving myself a strong talking to, I walked back to my aging car and drove back to my little home, with a wry smile.

He has recently married.

When I saw him at the pub nursing his bottle of Rioja in the sunshine, we talked.

"How's married life?" I asked casually.

"Interesting......." His voice trailed off lamely.....



Aplologies for the quality of the image, I took it as I drove past - I didn't want to be caught taking snaps of a drive as big as his!!!!

Although, it does remind me, a little, of a David Hockney painting.
Did you see that wonderful programme last night?


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.