Appreciation

By Appreciation

Spirea Japonica

This is when I know that the worst of winter has passed when the Spirea Japonica or Spirea Goldflame as it is more commonly known starts to burst into colour. This is the perfect time for this shrub. The buds are pink and the leaves that first appear are the loveliest shade. Within weeks this will be fully out and by the end of March the shrub will have turned yellow and by summer green. The potential of the plant at this stage with all its growth yet to come, with all its vibrance and beauty is what keeps it in my garden. I don't care much about the other shades or the full 'bloom'.

Looking through other journals last night I was reminded of how much I have learnt over the past few years and how much of it I can recall if pushed. I commented in Spanish on one journal and suggested lighting tips (?!?!) in another. Who knows if I got them correct but the fact that I could recall such details was uplifting.

It is with regret then that I have agreed to go to the cinema tonight to see 'Marigold Hotel'. I have complained bitterly to my pals that we are far too young to fully appreciate all this film has to offer. I can at least sit back and watch all the opulent colour and scenery. Oh god I do hope i am right about the age bit!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.